Skip to content Skip to navigation

Latest News

UCBNE Student wins Best Poster Award

Tuesday, Jul 5th 2016

UCBNE student Samantha (Sami) Lewis of the PANDA group won the Best Poster Award for her poster "Microwave Cavity R&D in Support of the ADMX-HF/Extreme Axion Experiment" at the XII Patras Conference on Axions, WIMPS and WISPS (Jeju Island, Korea)

Congratulations Sami!


Two UCBNE Students Win Best Poster Awards at ICONE

Thursday, Jun 30th 2016

Two students from the UC Berkeley Department of Nuclear Engineering have received best poster awards at ICONE 24 (International Conference on Nuclear Engineering) held this week in Charlotte, NC.

Xin Wang, graduate student in the Thermal Hydraulics lab, won the ASME Best Poster Award for her poster titled "Coupled Reactor Kinetics and Heat Transfer Model for Nuclear Reactor Transient Analysis”


Professor Rachel Slaybaugh Joins NEAC Committee

Wednesday, Jun 29th 2016

Nuclear Engineering Professor Rachel Slaybaugh was sworn in to the Federal Nuclear Energy Advisory Committee on June 17, 2016.  This committee provides advice to the Office of Nuclear Energy (at the Department of Energy) regarding scientific and technical issues related to nuclear energy.  Professor Slaybaugh will be serving an 18-month term on the committee.


NE Students Blog About Summer Internships

Wednesday, Jun 29th 2016

This summer, several of our undergraduate and graduate students will be interning at national laboratories around the country and in laboratories around the world.  They will be blogging about their experiences in the Career Outlook section of our website. 

A few posts have already been made with exciting stories of running out of gas in the middle of Lake Havasu, traveling to Australia, and trying to find living suitable living arrangements. 


In Memoriam: Professor Joonhong Ahn

Wednesday, Jun 22nd 2016

Joonhong Ahn, Ph.D.

1958 - 2016

Our dear friend and colleague, Professor Joonhong Ahn, died in Japan on Sunday, June 19; private services were held on Tuesday, June 21.  Since his diagnosis of advanced liver cancer in April, 2015, and throughout his treatment regimen, he maintained a relentless pace of work in service to the profession, the department and his students.